Love Bites for August 2011

Clematis

Has this month gone by fast, or what? Even though August is still summer, it’s overshadowed by the prospect of fall. With all those ‘Back to School’ commercials on TV and fall fashion previews in the stores, how are we supposed to enjoy what’s left of the summer? With that said, I admit I’m getting a bit tired of the heat and I am enjoying the cooler temperatures in the evenings. Please don’t tell Mother Nature I said that!

Here’s what I’ve been loving for the month of August…

Movies – This month I caught a couple fun flicks. “Horrible Bosses”, for me, was a silly, funny, and enjoyable movie. By no means a great feat of cinematic excellence, but just a hilarious movie to catch on cheap-movie-night if you’re able. Plus, doesn’t it seem like Jason Bateman is in EVERY movie these days? Also enjoyable, if not a bit cheesy, was “Crazy Stupid Love”. It’s a funny, yet heart-warming movie perfect for date night, or a film to catch with your best buddy. Plus, doesn’t it seem like Emma Stone is in EVERY OTHER movie these days?

One Day

A fantastic book and soon-to-be movie: One Day by David Nicholls

Books – Since the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich is up to 17 books, I figured it was time for me to give it a go! I polished off the first book “One for the Money” in a matter of days. It’s a very enjoyable, fun, lighthearted read. I look forward to eventually working my way through the entire series. The first book is being turned into a movie which comes out sometime next year.

The next book I tackled was “One Day” by David Nicholls. This book is absolutely fantastic and possibly my favourite book I’ve read this year! The characters are interesting and the dialogue is real and hilarious. I thoroughly enjoyed following the storyline of Emma and Dexter through the journey of their friendship over the course of 20 years. The movie was released this month and although I don’t love the idea of Anne Hathaway playing the character of Emma (why do movie producers insist on casting American actresses in the role of British characters?), I plan to check it out anyway.

The Beer Fest – This summer was my first time checking out the Toronto Festival of Beer held this year at Exhibition Place. At first I was a bit overwhelmed by all the booths and selection but I managed to try some very tasty beers! My favourite was the (very girly) Nickel Brook Green Apple Pilsner. I may or may not have gone back for seconds (and thirds?). I also enjoyed some live musical entertainment by singer / songwriter Danny Michel. Overall, it was a fun event and I think I’ll check it out again next year.

Yummies – This month I had the opportunity to check out two eating establishments in my neighborhood of Liberty Village. The first one was Williams Landing; the new restaurant / bar who’s opening has been highly anticipated since construction began last summer. Located directly across the street from The Brazen Head, the first meal I enjoyed there (the turkey burger and salad) was very enjoyable. I also happened to check  out the place for a drink after the Beer Fest, and it seemed to be hopping with activity on a Saturday night, despite a little bit of rain. I definitely plan to frequent William’s Landing for future meals and possibly check them out for Brunch.

After walking by a million times, I also finally checked out Merci Mon Ami in Liberty Village with a friend for lunch. I went there for Taco Tuesday and had a fantastic meal! I just wish they were open later in the evenings and on weekends.

Another yummy place I ate at was Sambuca Grille on Baldwin street in Toronto. This is my second time at this Italian restaurant. I discovered it earlier this year, in the winter. They have DELICIOUS PIZZA! Really…it’s quite amazing! I’m hungry just thinking about it.

Windsor Arms HotelIndulgence – This month I felt like I really deserved some pampering! So I treated myself to a Deluxe Spa Pedicure at The Windsor Arms Hotel Spa. One of my favourite places to go when I feel like treating myself to something extra special, the Windsor Arms Hotel Spa is a beautiful, luxurious place to relax. Another thing I enjoy at Windsor Arms is High Tea, but not this time. I’m saving that for the next time I deserve an indulgence.

Also, this month I treated myself to an hour long massage at Balance Integrated Healthcare. Located in Liberty Village, Balance has been my go-to spot for massage for the past 8 years. I’m faithful to this place since I always receive the absolute best treatment and care. I highly recommend it.

Clematis

Clematis flower from my roof top garden - photo manipulated with the Colour Manager iPhone App.

Photography Apps – I’m loving more photography apps on my iPhone. This month I discovered “Photosynth”, which is an app that allows you to take very cool panoramic photos.

“ColourManager” is an app that allows you to selectively remove colour from photos. I’ve been having fun creating black and white photos with single bursts of colour for an interesting effect.

Also, the app “BeFunky” may have a cheesy name, but it actually blows the Photoshop iPhone app out of the water. It has all the same effects as Photoshop plus more, and the interface is much better in my opinion. I hope to purchase and iPad sometime this year for the purpose of creating fun and interesting photos with photography apps on a larger scale. We’ll see how that goes…

Changes – Who doesn’t love change? This month brought about a career change for me. I’ve started a brand new job that will incorporate my project management skills and knowledge of online digital media. I’m also hoping to learn a new thing or two along the way. I’m already enjoying this new chapter and looking forward to the opportunities this new role will bring. Perhaps I will elaborate on that next month once I’m more settled in!

Art Class – The Figurative Drawing class I’ve been taking at the AGO has come to an end. I absolutely LOVED the course. I knew I would enjoy it as a creative outlet, but I didn’t realize how much I would learn! Now I have the desire to continue with more classes! I think I produced my favourite drawing during the final session. I’m looking forward to finding another class to take in the fall.

That’s it for my August update! Despite how soon fall seems to be looming, I plan to enjoy the last few weeks of summer while it lasts. What are you doing to savour the final days of summer?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

